Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Publisher: Pocket Books UK
Publication Date: 2009 (UK)
Pages: 221

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

“ “I walk around the school hallways and look at the people. I look at the teachers and wonder why they’re here. Not in a mean way, in a curious way. It’s like looking at all the students and wondering who’s had their heart broken that day… Or wondering who did the heart breaking and wondering why.”

Charlie is a Freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the side-line forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. ”

The Book in 3 Words: Capturing, Emotional, Real.

Monisah’s thoughts: I don’t know how long this book has been sitting on my shelf un-read, but I finally picked it up and how I am so glad I did. From the first page of the book, when I read, and I quote: “I want you to know I am both happy and sad, and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be”, I knew this book was a good one. Stephen Chbosky transports you to Charlie’s world with a writing style so unique, you can’t help but feel that Charlie is something more than just fictional. With a gripping storyline, and strong character progression, you might as well glue the book to your hands, and I’m pretty sure it won’t make any difference.

The one thing that amazed me with this book was how real it was. From the characters, to the themes, everything felt so prominent. I found myself loving every single character, and it amazed me how emotionally attached I felt to all the characters, including the minors. As the book is written in letter format, it instantly differs from anything you will have read, and I loved that about the book.

I had such high expectations about the book, and I can honestly say it didn’t disappoint me. I would recommend this book to everyone, as it has now become one of my favourite books of all time! However, with some mature themes, I don’t think it will be suitable for younger readers.

Rating: 5/5

 

Love always, Charlie.

….JUST KIDDING!

Stay beautiful, Monisah xo

One thought on “Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. Hey twins, I love reading your reviews they’re so good awh you’re doing well girlies… You have a proud cousin here and your doing such a good job. I was going to ask if you could lend me the book The Perks of Being a Wallflower?? You made me want to read it!!!! Lots Of Love,

    SexiiSiim xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

