Movie Review: Mockingjay Part 1

The movie in three words:
Intense, Dramatic, Emotional.

Monisah’s thoughts:
Yesterday, we went to see the third Hunger Games movie with a couple of our friends. I went into the theatre not really knowing what to expect; I love the adaptations of the first two books, but the last book was my least favourite of the three, so I was a bit wary for the movie. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the movie, and from the first few minutes of the film, I found myself absorbed into the Hunger Games world once again.

Firstly, I am going to talk about the things that I loved in the movie, and believe me, there were a lot of things I loved. To start off, the effects were absolutely incredible. The explosions and fire, and everything else that comes with a Revolution were faultless and always looked so realistic. It really brought the film together, and was a pleasure to watch. Next, I was so pleased to find that Peeta featured in the film much more than I expected. I remembered while reading the first half of the book, it was very Katniss dominated, and I found myself missing Peeta, so it was a surprise to see Peeta’s face more than I expected. And, of course, more Peeta means more Josh Hutcherson… I really can’t complain. Still on the subject of Peeta, I was amazed with how eerie Peeta looked when he was rescued from the Capitol. He looked so ill and thin, which made me want to cuddle him even though I would probably get strangled as a result. Moving on from Peeta Mellark, I was surprised to find myself tearing up throughout the movie. Believe me, I am not one to get emotional during films (that’s Ayesha’s job), but there were some scenes that just got to me. Katniss visiting the hospital in District 8, and her propaganda speeches were all so emotional, and I loved seeing the vulnerable side of Katniss that we didn’t really get to see in the other movies. Jennifer Lawrence’s acting was just incredible, as usual. Furthermore, the film was action-packed, and had an intense atmosphere throughout, which kept me holding my breath on more occasions than one. I’m also going to take this time to praise the hair and make-up department of the Hunger Games. Katniss and Prim’s hair were perfect all through the film. Their hairstyles left me in braided awe, and really quite jealous.

Overall, the film was fantastic, but I’m going to be picky and tell you about some things that I thought could have been improved ever so slightly. First things first, I kept waiting to see more of Finnick, but I was never quite satisfied. I don’t know if that was just me and my Finnick-obsessed brain, but I thought Finnick had a bigger role in the book compared to the film. Katniss and Finnick were meant to bond over the fact that Annie and Peeta were both held prisoners in the Capitol, but I didn’t really see that happening. Instead, I felt Gale playing the role of Katniss’ saviour and taking the role that Finnick should have played. Also, I didn’t like how Katniss just accepted Haymitch, when compared to the book, she had a hard time forgiving him after he left Peeta. I thought the book lacked the clash of Katniss and Haymitch’s personalities that was so prominent in the book.

However, all things said, I thought the movie was a brilliant adaptation of the first half of the book. It left me eagerly waiting for the final movie of The Hunger Games series, even though the ending isn’t one of my favourites. The movie was so much better than I had expected, and I left the cinema trying to calm my heartbeat. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I highly recommend you take a trip down to your local cinema ASAP.

Rating: 4.5/5

Stay beautiful,

Monisah xo

Leave a Reply

