Review: The Sin Eaters Daughter

Book: The Sin Eaters Daughter
Author: Melinda Salisbury
Publisher: Scholastic Ltd
Publication Date: March 2015
Pages: approx. 320

23411347

Synopsis (via Goodreads)
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court. She’s the executioner. As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company. But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen. However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?

Monisah’s thoughts:
Firstly, I would like to thank lovereading.co.uk for sending me this book to review!

I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but the cover of this book is so very beautiful, I knew I had to have it in my hands ASAP. Then, when I finished drooling over the gorgeous cover art, I read the synopsis and almost cried. IT SEEMED LIKE THE PERFECT BOOK FOR ME. Set in a castle, a beautiful prince, a gorgeous new guard (who are both worth swooning over), and a dark fairy-tale storyline that, if you are anything like me, will send you running off a cliff because THE FEELS. The storyline was so beautifully plotted, Salisbury really knows how to manipulate her reader into believing everything she wants them to. This review is spoiler free, but there is a part in the book that throws you completely off guard… And now, as a result I have serious trust issues and I’m an emotionally unstable wreck. I think this is a good time in the review to admit that I screamed “I TRUSTED YOU!” while throwing the book across my room because, yes, I get emotionally attached to fictional characters.

Which moves me swiftly on to my next topic: the characters. Twylla was a wonderful main character and I felt she really grew as a person throughout the book. Her whole life was planned out before her; betrothed to the prince, an executioner of the court, but it was lovely to see her take her life into her own hands. Now onto Twylla’s love interests. Intelligent and powerful Prince Merek who Twylla is due to marry, and Lief, Twylla’s brave and mysterious new guard. Twylla really is spoiled for choice. It’s alright for some! But, like every Fantasy book, there is a need for an evil villain. In this case, the role is played by The Queen, who will do anything, and I mean ANYTHING to get her way. I know she’s evil, but she was an amazing character so I ended up having that love/hate relationship with her.

Overall, this book was absolutely incredible and I enjoyed reading it so much! The ending has left me eager for the next book in the series, and I am almost definite this series will turn out to be one of my favourites! I am so excited for this release, and come March when the book hits the shelves, I would recommend you to pick one up!

Rating: 5/5

Thank you so very much for reading the review and I hope you liked it. On a little side note, Ayesha and I would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year!!

Stay beautiful,
Monisah xo

Leave a Reply

