Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: 2nd April 2015
Pages: 429

Goodreads Synopsis

“Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.”

FullSizeRender (1)

The book in 3 words:

Beautiful, Artistic, Emotional

Ayesha’s Thoughts:

Woah, Jandy Nelson seems to have done it again… Whenever I finish reading a Jandy Nelson novel I always feel as though I’ve accomplished something. Her stories are so well thought out and I always find it incredibly easy to relate to her characters. I was planning on buying this novel, so it’s not surprising that I jumped at the chance to receive a copy from lovereading in return for an honest review!

The design of this book was absolutely beautiful!! I was extremely excited when it arrived, the edges of my copy are painted yellow, and it’s just gorgeous. To top everything off, the cover matches my cover of The Sky is Everywhere, also written by Jandy Nelson, now who doesn’t love matching covers?! As soon as it arrived I gave it a flick through, to find that certain pages were designed to look as if paint was splattered over them, I just loved how creative the design was!

FullSizeRender IMG_0184

The storyline itself covered so many issues, such as homosexuality, the struggles of both family and teenage life, love and heartbreak. The story was told in two perspectives, Noah aged 13/14 and Jude aged 16, with the story alternating between the two. I thought Jandy Nelson captured the mood of both the characters very well and I loved how both Jude and Noah’s personalities were shown through the writing. I loved the role art played in the storyline, and how the stories and the characters all tied together at the end. I was so attached to the characters by the end, they had me balling my eyes out all throughout the last section of the book.

I had to lower my rating because I felt the story did get off to quite a slow start, and I don’t know if it was just me but I felt as though the landscape was a little underdeveloped. Also, this book didn’t have chapters, instead it was divided into sections which took some getting used to.

Overall, this was such an enjoyable read. I would definitely recommend everyone to pick up this book, because it’s released (in the UK) today, 2nd April 2015! Thank you for reading, and if you do decide to read this let me know your thoughts in the comments!!

Rating: 4/5

Stay Beautiful,

Ayesha xx

4 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

    • AAAHH!! Yes finally I found someone who shares my love for The Sky is Everywhere! I agree, Jandy Nelson’s writing is amazing, doesn’t fail to teleport me every single time. Are you planning on reading I’ll Give You the Sun?? If so, please let me know what you think!!xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

