10 Questions with Ana Huang!

Hello everyone!

I have something really exciting to share with you guys! As you know, I recently reviewed All I’ve Never Wanted by Ana Huang (which you can read here), and I absolutely loved it. I wanted to know more about Ana and her characters, so I asked Ana if she would be interested in an interview, and she said yes! This is the first time we’ve ever done anything like this, so I’d like to thank Ana for being the sweetest person ever, and making the process so easy! I hope you guys enjoy reading Ana’s answers as much as I did!

  • Where did the inspiration of All I’ve Never Wanted come from?
    Ana- I was actually inspired by a Japanese manga called Hana Yori Dango. I never read the manga, but I saw some of the TV show adaptations and was intrigued by the premise and basic plotline. I decided to create my own story off of that and voila, All I’ve Never Wanted was born.
  • Your book has over 17 million reads on Wattpad, did you ever expect it to become so popular?
    A- It was definitely unexpected! Before Wattpad, I’ve never shared the stories I write in my free time to anyone–not even my mom. When I discovered the site, I was intrigued and decided to take a leap of faith. There are a lot of stories on there, and a lot of great authors, so I was surprised that my story received so much attention. I cannot help but be amazed and humbled by all of my readers and fans. They’ve given me invaluable support, advice, and motivation, and without them, I wouldn’t have had the courage to continue writing and sharing my works.
  • What was your favourite scene to write?
    A- It’s hard to choose just one, but I would have to go with the scene where Maya’s grandmother finds Roman in the house. That scene was actually completely unplanned. It just sort of happened as I was writing the chapter, but at the time, I thought it fit perfectly. I was grinning by the end. I love the grandmother because she is so completely ridiculous and over-the-top, even though she’s based off my real grandmother. Some people are a little offended by how stereotypically I portrayed her, but honestly, I created her as almost a spoof character–besides, let’s face it, Roman needed to be taken down a notch, and the fact that a tiny old lady did it just made it all the better.
  • Which one of the Scions do you think you would be more likely to go on a date with? Why and where would you go?
    A- In real life, Carlo would be the best fit for me, although the Roman type is what I usually look for in a “book boyfriend.” However, realistically speaking, Carlo is just what a girl needs–sweet, smart, sensitive, but not overly so. Plus, he’s gorgeous! I envision our perfect date as something very romantic, intellectually stimulating but down-to-earth. For example, a visit to the museum followed by a picnic, or maybe something on the beach.
  • Out of all the characters in All I’ve never Wanted, who do you relate most to and why?
    A- I relate most to Maya. She’s probably a bit more confrontational than I am, but she has a lot of the same insecurities and goals that I do.
  • Which one of your characters would be more likely to have a blog, and what would they blog about?
    A- Definitely Venice! If there’s someone who just loves to interact with people and share stories, it’s her. I can already picture her running some type of gossip blog. Watch out, TMZ!
  • One of my favourite characters was Maya’s grandmother because she was so hilarious! Was the comedy hard to write at times or did it come naturally when writing?
    A- The comedy came pretty naturally. I didn’t even intend for it to be comedic at the beginning. I thought it would be more of a romantic drama, but as I started writing, the humor elements just wrote themselves, and in the end, I’m happy it ended up that way.
  • You wrote “All I’ve Never Wanted” when you were 16. What advice would you give to other young writers?
    A- Don’t give up! It sounds trite, but I think one of the greatest problems young and new writers have is finishing a story. Unless you’e an established author who makes their living off books, it can sometimes be hard to follow through on an idea. You get writer’s block, or you just get distracted by life, and it can be pretty discouraging. However, there’s nothing like the feeling of actually finishing a story. It’ll be worth it in the end, I promise!
  • I’ve become so attached to all the characters in All I’ve Never Wanted, is there any chance of a sequel?
    A- At the moment, I am planning a sequel that focuses on Carlo’s story. I am not sure when it will be released, as I have some other projects I want to wrap up before that one. However, it will definitely happen sooner or later.
  • All I’ve Never Wanted is one of my favourite books I’ve read this year. Have you read anything recently that you absolutely loved?
    A- First of all, thanks so much! I am so happy you enjoyed it. As for myself, I’ve been on a paranormal romance binge, and I loved Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series. They’re geared towards older readers–they can get pretty steamy–but at the core, they are based on Greek myth with some pretty unique twists. I love Greek mythology-based fiction and the books have just the right amount of romance, action, and fantasy for me.

You can read more about Ana on her Goodreads page here.

Thank you everyone!

Stay beautiful,
Monisah xo

2 thoughts on “10 Questions with Ana Huang!

Leave a Reply

