Review: Someone You Already Know – Sarahbeth Caplin

Title: Someone You Already Know
Author:
Sarahbeth Caplin
Publisher:
Createspace
Publication Date: October 1st 2012
Pages:
268

untitled (5)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Two teenage girls, two experiences with sexual assault: one committed by a stranger, the other by a relationship partner. Neither girl quite believes the other when she shares her story: wasn’t she ‘asking for it’ by walking home alone so late at night? Why didn’t she just end the relationship if he really treated her that way? Someone You Already Know is a raw, emotional book that explores the impact of rape culture on modern society. Told in alternating perspectives from two survivors, it unpacks the common myths of sexual assault, revealing important truths that every woman needs to know.

Ayesha’s Thoughts

Today I am reviewing a book I was sent from an author in return from an honest review. Thank you Sarahbeth for sending me this book to review! I wanted to pick up this book because it was totally different from anything I’ve ever read before.

The story was told in two perspectives, Katherine and Elisabeth, both girls who experience sexual assault in different ways. Katherine, who was raped by a stranger and Elisabeth, who experienced assault from her relationship partner. I thought the idea of this story told in two perspectives was very original and it gave the book even more meaning. As a reader, I could see the different perspectives of the two girls as they had both experienced different things. Reading this story was so inspiring, to see how Sarahbeth took a negative experience and told it in such a raw and emotional way. It was intriguing to see how the girls dealt with their experiences and how this affected their friendship. Sarahbeth used their friendship to portray the different views of rape, shown in the story as Katherine and Elisabeth’s friendship suffered as a result of their experiences.

The book did an amazing job of raising awareness of sexual assault. I learnt so many new things, and my perspective of rape culture in general has definitely changed. As for the characters, I loved the way they both showed feminism and strength for women. It was lovely to see strong feminine characters in a contemporary book. Every character stood for something different, and explored a new area of rape and rape culture.

Although the story did really well in raising awareness of this subject, I felt as though nothing really happened in the story. I felt like everything mentioned in the blurb of the book was everything that happened. It wasn’t really what I was used to, but I know the main point of the book wasn’t the storyline, but to raise awareness of sexual abuse. Also, I read this while I was sitting exams and the short chapters were really helpful to read while revising.

Overall, I am very happy I picked up this book! I learnt so many new things, and the story raised certain issues concerning women and society which has always been an important issue for me. I would give this novel a 3/5. I would have wanted more from the storyline, to engage the reader with more of a busy storyline, because I felt like the story was predictable, it was everything I was expecting.

If you are interested in any of the issues mentioned in the book, I would definitely recommend it! Thank you for reading, I hope you have a lovely day!

Rating: 3/5

Stay beautiful,

Ayesha xx

 

Leave a Reply

