Review – The Next Together by Lauren James

Title: The Next Together
Author:
Lauren James
Publisher:
Walker Books
Publication Date:
3rd September 2015
Pages:
368

51ynRPN2v3L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Goodreads Synopsis

How many times can you lose the person you love? Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated. Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace? Maybe the next together will be different… A powerful and epic debut novel for teenagers about time-travel, fate and the timelessness of first love. The Next Together is told through a mixture of regular prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports and internet articles.

Ayesha’s Thoughts

I received this ARC edition for The Next Together from lovereading.com in return for an honest review!

Okay, I don’t even know where to start, I was expecting this to be a soppy love story (which honestly I wouldn’t have minded) but The Next Together definitely surprised me! The storyline was so much more than I was expecting, there was action, a little bit of history, humour and Lauren James’ take on what life would be like in 2039.

The storyline was centred around a love story between Matthew and Katherine, in different time landscapes, 1745, 1854, 2019 and 2039. I felt as though I was hooked from page one. I always found myself wanting to keep reading, whether it was to explore the personalities of Matthew and Katherine in each time landscape, or to unravel the cleverly crafted storyline Lauren James has put together.

As for the characters, I fell in love with them. Katherine had a very witty sense of humour and she was utterly hilarious, I just wanted to be best friends with her! Matthew was just so adorable and nerdy and he definitely pulled at my heart strings. I found myself always rooting for them to get together and fall in love no matter what they had experienced or despite their backgrounds. They both felt like real people that I could relate to.

Now for the writing, Lauren James was born to write. She can write in any time period. Whether it is re-writing her take on historical events or writing about the future. Another original and personal detail were the little snippets of articles or letters at the start of every chapter (my favourites were definitely the refrigerator notes written between Matthew and Katherine in the time landscape 2019).

On a minor down side, I did find it a little unrealistic that the Matt and Kate in 2019 were the aunt and uncle of the Matt and Kate in 2039, but let’s just ignore that small detail because this book was honestly just perfect. It was everything I looked for in a book, fun, exciting and gripping. Oh, and the ending… I was turning the pages to try and find more, I hope with every bone of my being that there is a sequel.

I would recommend this book no matter what genre you normally read! This is such a versatile story that I will be recommending to all my family and friends! I would definitely recommend everyone pick it up when it is released on the 3rd September 2015. The Next Together has been one of the best books I’ve read so far this year!

Rating: 5/5

I hope you all enjoyed reading, and please let me know your favourite books that you’ve read this year in the comments! Have a wonderful day!

Stay beautiful,
Ayesha xx

7 thoughts on “Review – The Next Together by Lauren James

  1. Pingback: 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge: Day 2 | Quizzically Challenged

  2. Yeah I thought that this whole “coincidence” of the 2019 and 2039 versions being related made no sense. I wouldve loved if James had decided to give each incarnation a different name and let them be born into different families. Regardless, a nice book and I enjoyed it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: June Round-Up – Lauren James

Leave a Reply

