Review- Leeway by Colleen Caitin

Title: Leeway
Aut
hor: Colleen Caitin
Publisher:
Mirador Publishing
Publication Date: February 2015
Pages:
161

Indie Author News - Colleen Caitin - Leeway - NR

Goodreads synopsis:  

“Ye know sometimes people wanna tell ye how they feel, but they can’t.”
“Why not?” I ask sadly.
“Because they are afraid of what ye think about them.”
“When you love someone you should be able to say anything. No matter what.” “Yeah, that’s the theory…”

What happens when a very young and charismatic pirate captain meets an unbelievably annoying and bitchy princess? All hell breaks loose!

Captain Lian loves the sea and the life he built for himself. No rules. At least he did before he ended up with the youngest daughter of the King on his beloved ship which couldn’t be more problematic. Everyone knows that a girl on board of a pirate’s ship brings bad luck!

Now he has to figure out how to get rid of her as soon as possible without incurring the King’s wrath on him and his crew. Easier said than done. While facing one heated argument after another with the royal pain in the ass, it turns out the captain and the princess have more in common than they would like to admit.

As both of their lives start to fall apart they see themselves making choices that could change their lives forever.

Ayesha’s Thoughts

I received an e-version of this book for review but the author! The synopsis mentioned Pirates and Princesses so I knew I had to pick it up! I would just like to say thank you to Colleen for giving me the chance to read this novel!

This was an adorable story about a princess and a pirate falling in love. Both characters had different backgrounds, but were able to put their differences aside to overcome prejudice. The story was clichéd at times, especially because it contained the “I like him but he doesn’t like me” and “I like her but she doesn’t like me” scenario which seems to be everywhere in YA fiction! However, the story did contain some very cute scenes and I found myself growing to like Lian and Mila’s (the princess) relationship.

I loved the character development (of the 2 main characters) in the story, especially with Mila. She was quite reserved at first but as the story progressed, I found myself liking her more and more. As for the other characters, I don’t think we got to see them in as much detail as I would have liked. Sometimes I felt as though the story was dominated too much by Mila and Lian, and I would have liked to read more from other characters.

The story was told in both Lian and Mila’s point of view, and I thought Caitin did an amazing job of writing from two different perspectives. When writing in Lian’s point of view Caitin used pirate specific vocabulary and Mila’s POV was more polite and gentle. I loved how the writing reflected the personalities of both characters, and it made the overall reading experience more enjoyable.

The love story dominated plot line was quite a problem for me, I found myself getting tired of reading about Lian and Mila’s relationship, as I felt as though nothing else happened in the storyline. The last 50 pages were probably the most exciting of the whole book, and I would have liked to see more of the action and drama I saw a glimpse of towards the end. As for the ending, it was left on a huge cliff-hanger, however it was quite predictable.

Even though the story didn’t really “wow” me, I would still pick up the prequel (I hope the storyline doesn’t end there!) because I feel as though this story has so much more potential!

Overall, I would recommend this book for a light summer read, and to someone who enjoys cute love stories. I just wouldn’t suggest going into it expecting a lot of drama and action. All this being said, I don’t regret reading Leeway at all and would give it a solid rating of 3.5/5.

Rating: 3.5/5

Thank you for reading everyone! Let me know in the comments your favourite romantic novels!

Stay beautiful,
Ayesha xx

2 thoughts on “Review- Leeway by Colleen Caitin

Leave a Reply

