Review: Get Lost by Jack Watts!

Get Lost by Jack Watts

Hi everyone! I’ve got an exciting post for you today! One of our friends, Jack has written and self-published his own book! He gave us a digital copy and I’m going to review it! I hope you enjoy!

Title: Get Lost
Author:
Jack Watts
Publisher: Self- published
Publication Date: 17th July 2015
Pages:
214

book-cover-final-260x370

Synopsis

Robert Brown is the best at what he does, finding missing persons. Having devoted almost the entirety of his working life to the police, Detective Sergeant Brown knows exactly where to look for people and normally has a good idea how they disappeared. All of this comes crumbling down as Robert is forced to question everything he knows. Following a dream about a mysterious hallway, and a string of disappearances Robert just can’t solve, he is forced to accept the impossible.

A tale of love, mystery, and little regard for reality, Robert Brown’s story is told in this exciting novella, Get Lost.

Ayesha’s Thoughts

I went into reading “Get Lost” thinking it was a very intriguing plot line, having heard the initial ideas of the book first hand and I wanted to know how the story unravelled. For me, the story had a clear direction and the storyline was set up to always keep the reader wanting to read till the end. It was very well written and I especially loved the description! The story was written in 3rd person which was refreshing to read, as so many YA books are written in 1st person. I felt this gave me a greater perspective of the story, especially through the other characters.

I had a little trouble relating to the main character, mainly because Robert was middle aged and dealt with things I haven’t even thought about such as marriage and divorce! At first I felt as though Robert was an unlikeable and very pessimistic main character and I found it hard to like him. It was unusual reading from such a negative point of view, but I soon got used to it and I actually grew to like Robert in the end and I wanted the story to move in his favour!

Lisa was Roberts love interest and probably the most likeable character in the book. She brought a happier, ‘lighter’ feel to any scene she was in. I did feel as though this book lacked in strong female characters I’m so used to reading about in YA at the moment.

As for the plot, I thought it was a little slow to start off with, but as the story progressed it became more and more fast-paced. The last 100 pages or so especially, were very gripping! The ending of the story didn’t really give me the closure I was expecting and I still has some unanswered questions about the dream and the people who had the dream.

That being said I would say Get Lost is definitely a worthwhile read. As well as the main plot, the story covered other major themes. For example, there was a focus on mental health, especially in adult life, which I personally haven’t read much about (only ever teenagers and mental health!). The storyline also touched on important issues regarding ghost writing.

Overall I really enjoyed reading Get Lost and I would definitely recommend this one! For more information about Get Lost check out the website here. For awesome movie reviews you can also check out Jacks blog which he co-hosts with Matthew and Kieron here.

Thank you for reading everyone! I hope you have a good night!

Stay beautiful,

Ayesha xx

4 thoughts on “Review: Get Lost by Jack Watts!

  1. This sounds a lot like The Yiddish Policeman’s union, which I had to read for school. It was about a Jewish homicide detective in Sitka, Alaska, investigating a really mysterious murder he can’t understand. It was super interesting. Like you, because of a middle aged, divorced character and some adult themes like that I couldn’t always relate but it was super interesting! This book actually sounds quite good, although I dislike too open endings. I don’t expect to find this book around here but if I do, I’ll check it out! – Shar

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh I’ve never heard of the Yiddish Policeman’s Union but I’m going to have to check it out! I know, for me relating to the character or the characters experiences is very important when reading a book! That’s incredibly sweet of you! You can always check out the kindle version if you want all the details are on the website I’ve linked in the post!! Thank you for stopping by and commenting Shar!!! (my fellow Taylor Swift twin flute enthusiast!! 😂😂) -A x

      Like

Leave a Reply

