Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date:
January 3rd 2012
Pages:
387

cinder

Goodreads Synopsis

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Ayesha’s Thoughts

I have seen this book all over BookTube and book blogs, and as it is a Cinderella retelling I had to try it out for myself! This is the fairy tale retelling that is as far from the real fairy tale as possible. For starters Cinder is a cyborg and its set in New Beijing far into the future. This is probably the most original retelling I have ever read!

From the start of the book I was absolutely captivated by the world Marissa Meyer had created. I honestly can’t remember the last time I was this engrossed in a story in this way. From the setting to the characters everything left me wanting to explore the story. I loved how there were little hints of the original fairy tale embedded into storyline, it gave a sense of familiarity to the story and honestly just made me smile!

The main character, Cinder was very likeable and I loved reading from her point of view. Her character development was very strong, and towards the end I felt as though she was a very strong minded character. I especially loved the character of Cinders android and friend Iko, who brought such a cute and funny element to the book!

The story had many twists and turns, and it was very well thought out. The story was nothing like I was expecting and so original, I think that is the reason why I loved it so much! However, I did guess the “plot twist” that we find out at the end of the book quite early on, so I am giving Cinder a rating of 4 (even though I would love to give it 5 aah). I can’t wait to carry on with The Lunar Chronicles series!

Thank you for reading! Be sure to let me know your thoughts of Cinder in the comments, and I would love to hear what your favourite fairy-tale retellings are!

Stay beautiful,

Ayesha xx

9 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. ‘Cinder’ is one of my favourite Cinderella retellings of all time. Everything you said sums up my feelings perfectly! Loved your review.
    If you haven’t read ‘Uprooted’ by Naomi Novik yet, I highly recommend it. It’s also based on fairytales and folklore, but it’s unlike anything else I’ve ever read. In a good way, though!
    – Amy xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaah thank you so much Brianna!!! I know Iko was sooo sweet!!! Thank you I really can’t wait to carry on with the series, the plot line is so original to anything I’ve ever read before! Oooh I’ll let you know what I think of Scarlet when I get to it!! Yaaaay!! Thank you for stopping by and commenting!! -A xx ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

