Review: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Review: A Thousand Nights
Author: E.K. Johnston
Publisher: Macmillan Publishers
Publication Date: October 2015
Pages: 259

A-Thousand-Nights

*I was sent an uncorrected proof copy of this book by lovereading.co.uk in return for an honest review*

A thousand nights wasn’t like any other love story I’ve read before. As a retelling of Arabian Nights, it was a unique and intriguing read, and a mysterious atmosphere was prominent throughout the book.

Firstly, I am going to start by saying the beginning and the end of the book were brilliant, I couldn’t turn the page fast enough! However the middle of the book was a slightly different story. The book lost me quite a few times, and I wasn’t very motivated to pick the book up and read it. So, a book that should have taken me no time at all to finish, took me quite a while to read. As I mentioned before, there was this mysterious atmosphere that E.K. Johnston did an awesome job of continuing through the book. However, I’m not quite sure that I liked it because I was quite confused while reading the book. “Small god” magic played a big part in the book and I didn’t quite understand it, but it did become clearer towards the end.

Now that I’ve got the negatives out of the way, I’m going to start on the positives! First things first, if I am going to persuade you to read this book I have to mention the writing. E.K. Johnston has a way with words that is truly special. The writing was absolutely beautiful, and the two voices in this book were distinctly different (which makes me very happy!)

I also loved how many strong female characters there were. Although men were the dominant in society, the women really knew their worth and how strong they were. The main character (whose name was not mentioned in the book, but from further research I found was Scheherazade) was willing to sacrifice herself from Lo Melkhiin to save her sister. And her sacrifices didn’t stop there. She did everything she could to save the people she loved from Lo Melkhiin, and even wanted to save Lo Melkhiin from himself.

Which brings me on to my next character: Lo Melkhiin. He was the only character that actually had a name. Everyone else was referred to as “sister” or “mother of my heart” etc. Thinking about that now, I would have thought I’d be annoyed by that, but it added to the mysterious atmosphere and I enjoyed the originality of it. Lo Melkhiin was evil but there was something about him that made me like him. He kept the story interesting and I am still so intrigued by his character.

Another thing I loved about the book was the setting. It was set in the desert and Johnston easily transported you there. It was a unique setting for me and I really enjoyed the experience.ย The setting complimented the magic in the book perfectly.

Although I would have liked to see more chemistry between Lo Melkhiin and Scheherazade, and the ending was a little predictable, I did enjoy this book so I am giving it a rating of 3.75/5.

Rating: 3.75/5

Thank you for reading this everyone, and be sure to check out A Thousand Nights when it hits the shelves in October!

Stay beautiful,
Monisah xo

9 thoughts on “Review: A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

  1. This seems like it’s any interesting read! I might have to add it to my TBR list. It also sounds like it’s based of the same story as The Wrath and the Dawn, which I enjoyed.

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should definitely pick this one up (the gorgeous cover should help with that too!!) Yes, I think it is! I haven’t read The Wrath and the Dawn but everyone seems to be comparing the two books so I think they are both based on the same story. Aww no problem, and thank you for commenting! -M xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I struggled so much with the book due to the lack of name. I get that the author was trying to follow the story tale convention of old but it made it so hard for me to relate to the protagonists. I also had difficulty imagining the small god magic and thought it wasn’t adequately explained. Glad you still had fun with it, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought the lack of character names was a unique little addition to the book, but I understand what you mean. I do have to agree with you, the small god magic was a hard concept to grasp, and even after finishing the book I still don’t really understand it! I guess it was a pretty decent book in the end though. Didn’t you like it? -M x

      Like

Leave a Reply

