Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Hi everyone,

It really has been a long time since we posted on our blog, and we are really and truly sorry. We’ve had quite a bit of a year, getting into different universities and learning to live life without each other! We are planning on uploading a full post on where we’ve been! All the change and unexpectedness left us with no motivation to post, but we still have been reading. That all being said, I’m going to review Carry On by the wonderful Rainbow Rowell for you all today.

Title: Carry On
Author:
 
Rainbow Rowell
Publisher:
Macmillan Children’s Books (UK)
Publication Date:
October 6th 2015
Pages:
517

Carry On - Rainbow Rowell

Goodreads synopsis: 

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

Ayesha’s Thoughts:

After reading Fangirl, I fell in love with the writing style of Rainbow Rowell. (How blessed she is to have such a beautiful name!) After the release of Carry On in 2015 I have been waiting for my chance to sit down and devour this book (which I did in two days!). I think it’s safe to say that I loved it!

Carry On is no doubt a Harry Potter spin-off. The magic world and the relationship of the characters were familiar to read. I think it was very clever of Rainbow Rowell to create an almost parallel universe from the well known Hogwarts world. However, similarities aside, the story was as individual and absorbing in its own way. The progression of the storyline was almost perfect, and I managed to fly through the last 200 pages in just one morning!

The characters were one of my favourite aspects of the book. I haven’t read a story where the main character was gay, and I really enjoyed it! I honestly cannot wait to read more LGBT books! As Rainbow Rowell wrote different chapters from different perspectives, I was able to get an insight and a closer understanding of each character’s thoughts and personalities. The characters are what gave this novel its own sense of individuality, even when being inspired by the famous Harry Potter series.

The ending was almost perfect for me, Rowell managed to tie up most of the loose ends of the story, but she did leave me with some questions. (Highlight the next paragraph for my thought on the ending – *CONTAINS SPOILERS*)

Although the ending was one of my favourite parts of the book, it did leave me with some questions. Did Simon ever find out that the Mage and Lucy were his parents? The readers definitely found out but I don’t think Simon did? Also, where did Nicodemus go at the end of the story? After he saved Baz from the Numpties he sort of just disappeared and we didn’t see him again! I would have loved to read his reaction to Ebb’s death… Being a twin myself, I would have found it heartbreaking! 

The slight confusion at the end, knocked my rating down to a 4/5 stars (although still very respectable). I’m glad Rowell decided to give Simon and Baz a story ‘she felt she owed them’. This book was a perfect post-exam read, and I would definitely recommend it!

Have you read Carry On or any other Rainbow Rowell books? What did you think of them? I’d love to read your opinions in the comments!

Stay beautiful,

Ayesha xx

12 thoughts on “Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

    • Yay! I’m so happy you enjoyed it just as much as me Eve!! What is your special relationship to this book! I’d love to know! Sorry for the extremely late reply!! Thank you for commenting!! -A xx

      Like

  1. I was a bit meh about the other Rainbow Rowell books I’ve read so I wasn’t sure whether or not to read this, but seeing how much you’ve enjoyed it makes me want to give it a try. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • What didn’t you like about Rainbow Rowell’s other books?? I would recommend Carry On! It was a great read! If you do read it let me know I’d love to read what you think about it! Thank you so much for commenting Zoe 💓 -A xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

